Artist Statement

Summer Assessment 2nd and 3rd Year

  

   51° 28′ 40.12″ N, 0° 0′ 5.31″ W
    51.477812, -0.001475

This term I have had a great opportunity to undertake an internship at Christie’s auction house as well as to develop my art project. Within my installation I am focusing on the idea of disruption, purity and grief illustrated by war and nuclear power. With this I want to draw how thin is the line between war and peace, disruption and repair, hope and loss. Previously, during Autumn term I have also worked within the idea of purity. However I have changed the media, as it was quite restrictive and it did not allow me to explore my subject of interest.

   I have researched Hiroshima and Nagasaki events of 1942, as these two cities were destroyed within minutes and consequences are still present today. This is what brought me to the famous story of Sadako Sasaki, the girl who became a victim of nuclear bomb explosion in Hiroshima, after a decade she was diagnosed with leukemia. However, she wanted to live, so she turned to Japanese belief about ‘Senbazuru’ (‘Tsuru’), origami paper cranes. The legend was that if she would complete 1000 paper cranes her dream would come true. Even today in primary schools children learn how to assemble origami. Paper cranes emphasize the idea of dreams, hope, peace, innocence within my piece.

During this project I was experimenting mostly with Photoshop. However, the most important experiments that were crucial in forming of my work, were experiments with studio space and sound, as it becomes an important issue within my piece. Sound and Space allows audience to get absorbed within installation. I wanted to address the issue directly, because the idea is to make audience feel disturbed under the influence of sound, video and paper cranes. I have also played with light and shadow as I have done in my autumn piece, but it works differently. The shadows from paper cranes make video footage like a broken mirror with lots of pieces, it disturbs the completeness of the pictures, and illustrates aggression and malevolence. 

  

My work was influenced by works of Anna Lewis, Wolgang Leib,Takashi Murakami and Charles Ledray in the way that I tried to look on how many can form the one, as well as symbolism, memories and history.Throughout the project you can see the echo of politics, as there would be no war and nuclear conflicts without politics. However, it was not my main intention, as I wanted to focus on how entire countries could be wiped out in a minute. My primary idea was to illustrate how war brings disruption and disappearance. Paper cranes are white, pure and with the organic form of a bird. However, with the disturbance of video they become one of the main elements that bring grief, and disturbance, they bring the dialogue between presence and disappearance. The beauty of the paper cranes transforms into the image of aggression and evil.                                  

The pictures in the footage are pictures of kids that have been suffering during Hiroshima, Nagasaki and Chernobyl, as well as the contrast images of happy children. The images of happy kids will be pictures of USSR pioneers during their summer holidays in international summer camps. This links to the film that have inspired me towards the project -‘Здравствуйте Дети!!’, as USSR pioneer came together in order to safe a life of a Japanese girl. The music will be layered on to the footage, it will be one of the pioneer songs (propaganda), that symbolizes happiness and peace. It will have a heavy contrast with the images, as they are shocking and horrifying.The music track was specifically edited, as I have done a lot of research on II World War, and I wanted to make an effect of an isolated place, that has been wiped out with nuclear power to a ground of 0. It will well illustrate the tension of war and suffering, and highlight the idea of peace. Within this I tried to depict the idea that everything in the world is cyclical, everything changes through time, and the constant images are only there for the short period of time.  

                                       

Leave a Reply

