Visiting Artist- Sanja Ivekovic (+ Research Seminar)

Autumn Assessment 2nd and 3rd Year, Related Artists, Uncategorized

Sanja Ivekovic is a Croatian (Zagreb) artist who work with photography, video and installation and focuses on feminist and conceptual art. Her work now is on the show at Tate- ‘The World Goes Pop’.

She was mentioned on the research seminar, before that i was not aware of her practice. However, during the talk I have became interested in her practice. She was not my inspiration for my current piece, but her work and ideas just have generally inspired me.

I became particularly interested in two of her pieces that she displayed and discussed during her talk at University.

‘Personal Cuts’, video, 4min, 1982

This piece explores the broken narrative of history.

And the second piece that drew my attention was:

‘Triangle’,performance,18min, 1979

article_image_2_russian_show triangle-4

«The action takes place on the day of the President’s visit to the city, and it develops as intercommunication between three persons:
1. a person on the roof of a tall building across the street from my apartment;
2. myself, on the balcony;
3. a policeman in the street in front of the house.
Due to the cement construction of the balcony, only the person on the roof can actually see me and follow the action. My assumption is that this person has binoculars and a walkie-talkie apparatus. I notice that the policeman in the street also has a walkie-talkie.
The action begins when I walk out onto the balcony and sit on a chair, I sip whiskey, read a book, and make gestures as if I perform masturbation. After a period of time, the policeman rings my doorbell and orders the ‹persons and objects are to be removed from the balcony.›»

(source: Sanja Iveković, Museum of Contemporary Art, Zagreb 1998, S. 27.)

 

 

Leave a Reply

